PHP - HTTP Digest Authentication - Understanding Code Help

Posted on 16th Feb 2014 07:03 pm by admin

Hi Everyone,

This is my first time on your website and please excuse if I am asking silly question.

I have a question about PHP HTTP DIGEST AUTHENTICATION - published in PHP Manual - php.net
Their explanation is bit limited and I was unable to find anything about it on the web - People have written that
it's beyond the knowledge of the language and just paste the code and use it. But I have still done some study on the regular expression used and managed to understand it but please help me in understanding it completely.

The code which I need to be explained is in Blue color.

I will thank u in advance

/////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
<?php
$realm = 'Restricted area';

//user => password
$users = array('admin' => 'mypass', 'guest' => 'guest');

if (empty($_SERVER['PHP_AUTH_DIGEST'])) {
header('HTTP/1.1 401 Unauthorized');
header('WWW-Authenticate: Digest realm="'.$realm.
'",qop="auth",nonce="'.uniqid().'",opaque="'.md5($realm).'"');

die('Text to send if user hits Cancel button');
}

// analyze the PHP_AUTH_DIGEST variable
if (!($data = http_digest_parse($_SERVER['PHP_AUTH_DIGEST'])) ||
!isset($users[$data['username']]))
die('Wrong Credentials!');

// generate the valid response
$A1 = md5($data['username'] . ':' . $realm . ':' . $users[$data['username']]);
$A2 = md5($_SERVER['REQUEST_METHOD'].':'.$data['uri']);
$valid_response = md5($A1.':'.$data['nonce'].':'.$data['nc'].':'.$data['cnonce'].':'.$data['qop'].':'.$A2);

if ($data['response'] != $valid_response)
die('Wrong Credentials!');

// ok, valid username & password
echo 'Your are logged in as: ' . $data['username'];

// function to parse the http auth header
function http_digest_parse($txt)
{
// protect against missing data
$needed_parts = array('nonce'=>1, 'nc'=>1, 'cnonce'=>1, 'qop'=>1, 'username'=>1, 'uri'=>1, 'response'=>1);