TRS announces candidates for seven Lok Sabha seats

Posted on 5th Apr 2014 04:59 pm by admin

Hyderabad, April 5 (IANS) The Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) Saturday released first list of candidates for Lok Sabha election.

The party, which has decided to go alone in simultaneous polls to Lok Sabha and Andhra Pradesh assembly, announced candidates for seven Lok Sabha seats.

It named A.P. Jitender Reddy as the candidate from Mahabubnagar, which is currently represented by party chief K. Chandrasekhara Rao. Jitender Reddy was elected from the same constituency as a candidate of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in 1999.

Jitender Reddy had joined the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) in 2006 and switched loyalties to the TRS in 2010.

The TRS has fielded its senior leader B. Vinod Kumar from Karimnagar. The former MP was elected from Hanamkonda in 2004 but lost 2009 elections from Karimnagar.

The TRS has fielded former state minister Kadiam Srihari from Warangal Lok Sabha constituency. Srihari quit the TDP and joined the TRS last year. He is currently the politburo member of the TRS.

Konda Vishweshwar Reddy, a businessman, will contest as TRS candidate from Chevella Lok Sabha seat in Ranga Reddy district, named after his grandfather and former deputy chief minister Konda Venkata Ranga Reddy.

Manda Jaganathan, who was elected as Congress candidate from Nagarkurnool in the last elections, will seek re-election for the same seat on the TRS ticket. He had joined the TRS last year.

Narsaiah Goud, a physician, is the TRS candidate from Bhongir parliamentary constituency.

P. Rajeswara Reddy, a prominent educationist and a professor of Kakatiya University, will contest from Nalgonda.

The TRS, which announced 69 candidates for the assembly elections Friday, released second list of four candidates. A day after he quit YSR Congress party and joined the TRS, Bajireddy Goverdhan was named as the candidate for Nizamabad rural assembly constituency.

Elections to 119 assembly seats and 17 Lok Sabha seats in Telangana are scheduled April 30.

165 Like 48 Dislike
Previous news Next news
Other news

Sunny but chilly Republic Day in Himachal

Shimla, Jan 26 (IANS) Republic Day was celebrated across Himachal Pradesh Monday with gaiety des

Odisha Celebrates Republic Day with Gaiety

Bhubaneswar, Jan 26 (IANS) The 66th Republic Day was celebrated across Odisha Monday with gaiet

Sadhu Yadav not to contest against sister Rabri Devi

Patna, April 4 (IANS) Former MP Sadhu Yadav Friday said he will not contest the Lok Sabha polls

The new variant of Corona found in India is N-440K quite dangerous, it can spread 10 times more than the others.

The coronavirus spread in India spreads 10 times faster than the coronavirus spread in the world

Mufti meets Modi, finalises cabinet

New Delhi, Feb 27 (IANS) Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) patron Mufti Mohammad Sayeed met Prime

Sign up to write
Sign up now if you have flare of writing..
Login   |   Register
Follow Us
Indyaspeak @ Facebook Indyaspeak @ Twitter Indyaspeak @ Pinterest RSS

Play Free Quiz and Win Cash