Two CRPF troopers killed in Bihar blast

Posted on 7th Apr 2014 08:33 pm by admin

Patna, April 7 (IANS) Two CRPF troopers were killed in Bihar's Aurangabad district Monday when an IED exploded while they were defusing it, police said.

Meanwhile, police have also recovered two cane bombs in neighbouring Gaya district during search operations against Maoists.

The police have sounded high alert in another neighbouring district of Rohtas in which Sasaram parliamentary constituency falls from where Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar is seeking re-election as a Congress candidate.

The state goes to polls April 10.

A police official said two Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF) troopers were killed and five CRPF troopers and four Bihar policemen were injured when the Improvised Explosive Device (IED) went off.

According to police officials, Maoists have called for a boycott of the Lok Sabha election and had placed the IED to create panic.

The injured security men include officer-in-charge of Dhibra police station Amar Choudhary. They have been admitted to hospital for treatment, police said.

Following the incident, combing operations have been intensified against the Maoists in Aurangabad and neighbouring districts.

Meanwhile, police Monday recovered two cane bombs of 20 kg near a village in Gaya district during search operations and arrested a Maoist. Both the bombs were defused.

After the Aurangabad blast, Rohtas Superintendent of Police Vikas Verman sounded a high alert in the Sasaram Lok Sabha constituency. He also ordered the sealing of the district bordering Aurangabad and directed police officials to keep an eye on suspected people.

Aurangabad parliamentary constituency along with five Maoist-affected constituencies - Gaya, Sasaram, Jamui, Nawada and Gaya - will go to polls April 10, in the first of six-phased parliamentary polls in Bihar.

Former Delhi police commissioner and Kerala's ex-governor Nikhil Kumar is contesting from Aurangabad.

168 Like 36 Dislike
Previous news Next news
Other news

Ensure model code of conduct followed, EC tells officials

New Delhi, April 11 (IANS) The Election Commission Friday directed state and district-level aut

Polling begins in Delhi

New Delhi, April 10 (IANS) Voting for the capital's seven Lok Sabha seats began at 7 a.m. Thursd

Nine all-women polling stations in Tripura

Agartala, April 2 (IANS) The Election Commission will set up nine all-women polling stations -

Metro services on Holi from 2.30 p.m.

New Delhi, March 4 (IANS) Delhi Metro services on Holi wil

Odisha chit fund scam: Charge sheet against Micro Finance Ltd

Bhubaneswar, Feb 12 (IANS) A Special Investigation Team of the CBI Thursday filed a preliminary

Sign up to write
Sign up now if you have flare of writing..
Login   |   Register
Follow Us
Indyaspeak @ Facebook Indyaspeak @ Twitter Indyaspeak @ Pinterest RSS

Play Free Quiz and Win Cash