Bit manipulation program with binary operations

Posted on 16th Feb 2014 07:03 pm by admin

My homework is to create a program to scan in and add binary numbers and print them like so

Enter a binary number: 1

sum = 1 decimal 1 hex and 00000001 binary

Enter a binary number: 10

sum = 3 decimal 3 hex and 00000011 binary

etc.

I know that bit manipulation and input and output of strings is necessary to create this program, but I'm not experienced with either. The code I have compiles, but I am unable to make it do anything useful, and most of it is wrong. My do loop is probably wrong and I don't understand how to properly use bit manipulation. I'm rather clueless, can anyone give me some ideas on what to do next?

#include "stdafx.h" #include "stdio.h" #include "math.h" #include "iostream" #include "string" using namespace std; int sum = 0; int i = 0; int c = 0; int Q; string binaryInput; int main() { cout << ("Enter a binary number: "); //Prompts the user for input cin >> binaryInput; //Writes the binary input to cin do { //do loop to read the binary one digit at a time i++; cout << binaryInput[i]; //I don't understand how to output a specific digit of the string and manipulate it c = binaryInput[i]; if (c = Q) break; else; sum = sum + c * 2 * i; // supposed to be sum = sum + binaryInput[i] * pow(2,i), this is where the binary is converted to decimal printf("nsum = %*d ", 3, sum); printf("decimal %*x " , 2, sum); printf("hex %08d binary", sum); } while (i
No comments posted yet

Your Answer:

Login to answer
118 Like 11 Dislike
Previous forums Next forums
Other forums

Sharing PHP Sessions Across Domains
I am in the process of writing a script to share a php session across various domains I have.
The

pagination - need help on passing of search query.
Hi, i have been trying for days but couldn't get this sorted out. Would like some professional help

how can i display php source code snippets ?