EC press conference at 4.30 pm: Election dates will be announced in 5 states, BJP government in only one of these states

Posted on 26th Feb 2021 01:34 pm by rohit kumar

There will be a press conference on Friday at 4.30 pm from the Election Commission. In this, the dates of assembly elections to be held in 5 states will be announced. These states are West Bengal, Tamil Nadu, Assam, Kerala, and Union Territory of Puducherry. Of these, only Assam has a BJP government.


Political enthusiasts have already started in electoral states. Only the election dates were waiting to come.


Elections will be held on 294 assembly seats in West Bengal

The state is currently ruled by the Trinamool Congress. TMC won 211 seats in the 2016 election. The Left and Congress alliance managed to win 76 seats. This time, the BJP, which was throwing all the strength in the state, could get only 3 seats. Others had 4 seats on their account.


In the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, BJP had won 18 seats out of 42 seats. Therefore, the party has put a lot of emphasis on the assembly elections. This time the election has become TMC vs BJP. Here the alliance between the Congress, the Left, and the Indian Secular Front is fixed. Furfura Sharif's Indian Secular Front has been given 30 seats. According to sources, voting can take place in 6 to 7 stages in the state.


Elections on 126 seats in Assam

The BJP government was formed here for the last time in 2016. It had got 86 seats. Congress got 26 seats and AIUDF got 13 seats. Others had 1 seat.


234 assembly seats in Tamil Nadu

The AIDMK alliance formed the government by winning 134 seats here. DMK and Congress alliance got 98 seats.


Fight over 140 seats in Kerala

Elections are to be held in 140 seats in Kerala, the last stronghold of the Left in the country. There is a coalition government of left parties and Congress. The Left has 91 and the Congress 47. BJP and others have 1-1 seats in their account.


30 Assembly seats in Puducherry

The Union Territory of Puducherry has 30 seats. There are 3 nominated members in the Vidhan Sabha. Till now the Congress was a coalition government, but only last week many MLAs left the Congress. This reduced the government to a minority. CM Narayanasamy had to resign. Presently President's rule is in force here.


In 2016, the Congress won 19 seats here. AINRC, AIADMK won 4-4 seats. The BJP had 3 nominated members. Last week, 7 members of Congress resigned. This left the government with only 12 MLAs here and the Congress could not prove a majority in the floor test.

1 Like 0 Dislike
Previous news Next news
Other news

AAP Former minister apologies for joining the party in the past

Kejriwal said on relaxation in lockdown- If we show discipline only then God will help us

Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal has appealed to people to follow the social distancing norms

This smartphone sets new record before the sale on Amazon India, other smartphones will face challenge

new Delhi. OnePlus launched its cheaper smartphone 'OnePlus Nord' on 21 July. The pre-booking of

Kerala government agencies to hire nurses for overseas jobs

Thiruvananthapuram, March 18 (IANS) Two Kerala government agencies will have full rights to tak

'Natarajan-Gandhi tussle delayed mining resumption in Goa'

Panaji, Jan 30 (IANS) Goa Chief Minister Laxmikant Parsekar Friday said that the Natarajan-Gand

Sign up to write
Sign up now if you have flare of writing..
Login   |   Register
Follow Us
Indyaspeak @ Facebook Indyaspeak @ Twitter Indyaspeak @ Pinterest RSS

Play Free Quiz and Win Cash